Nova Scotia Archives

Census Returns, 1838

Please note: the listing below is made from place names used in the returns. They may vary from the places commonly known today. Sydney county, for example, was created in 1784 to administer the eastern mainland of Nova Scotia (now Antigonish and Guysborough Counties). The name remained in use during the period of this census.

Ainslie Township, Inverness County

Albion Mines, Pictou County

Annapolis, Annapolis County

Argyle Township, Yarmouth County

Arichat Township, Richmond County

Arisaig Township, Sydney County

Aylesford Township, Kings County

Baddeck River, Cape Breton County

Ball's Brook, Cape Breton County

Barrington Township, Shelburne County

Bauline, Cape Breton County

Bay of Islands, Halifax County

Beaver Bank, Halifax County

Beaver Harbour, Halifax County

Benackady, Cape Breton County

Big and Little Ponds, Cape Breton County

Big Beach Pond, Cape Breton County

Big Harbour, Cape Breton County

Big Narrows, Cape Breton County

Big Tracadie, Sydney County

Black Brook, Cape Breton County

Black Settlement, Sydney County

Blandford, Lunenburg County

Boisdale, Cape Breton County

Boulardarie, Cape Breton County

Branch Road, Cape Breton County

Briars Island, Digby County

Bridgewater, Lunenburg County

Broad Cove, Lunenburg County

Campertown, Lunenburg County

Canso Township, Inverness County

Cape Jack, Sydney County

Cape North, Cape Breton County

Cape Sable Island, Shelburne County

Chelsea, Lunenburg County

Chester Township, Lunenburg County

Cheticamp, Inverness County

Chezzetcook, Halifax County

Clam Harbour, Halifax County

Clare Township, Digby County

Clements, Annapolis County

Cole Harbour, Halifax County

Conquerall, Lunenburg County

Country Harbour, Guysborough County

Cow Bay, Cape Breton County

Dalhousie Settlement, Annapolis County

Dartmouth, Halifax County

Digby Township, Digby County

Dorchester Township, Sydney County

Dover, Halifax County

Duncan Cove, Halifax County

Dutch Village, Halifax County

Earl Town, Colchester County

Economy Township, Colchester County

Egerton Township, Pictou County

Ellisons Bar, Cape Breton County

Falmouth Township, Hants County

Fergusons Cove, Halifax County

Flagstaff, Cape Breton County

Flambois (Framboise), Richmond County

Frasers Grant, Sydney County

French River, Cape Breton County

French Village, Cape Breton County

Gabarus, Cape Breton County

Gay's River, Halifax County

George's River, Cape Breton County

Goose Cove, Cape Breton County

Goose Pond, Cape Breton County

Grand Lake, Cape Breton County

Granville, Annapolis County

Grinton Settlement, Annapolis County

Gut of Canso Settlement, Sydney County

Guysborough Township, Guysborough County

Halifax, Halifax County

Hammonds Plains, Halifax County

Harrietsfield, Halifax County

Havre Boucher, Sydney County

Hawksbury Township, Richmond County

Herring Cove, Halifax County

Hillsborough, Annapolis County

Hillsburgh Township, Digby County

Horton Township, Kings County

Ingonish, Cape Breton County

Irish Cove, Richmond County

Islands, Lunenburg County

Italy Cross, Lunenburg County

Jeddore, Halifax County

Kempt Township, Hants County

Kemptown Settlement, Colchester County

Ketch Harbour, Halifax County

L'Archeveque, Richmond County

Lawrencetown, Halifax County

Lennox Township, Richmond County

Lewis Bay, Cape Breton County

Lingan, Cape Breton County

Little Baddeck, Cape Breton County

Little Harbour, Halifax County

Little Loran, Cape Breton County

Little River, Sydney County

Little St Peters, Richmond County

Little Tracadie Settlement, Sydney County

Liverpool Township, Queens County

Londonderry Township, Colchester County

Long Island, Digby County

Louisbourg Road, Cape Breton County

Lower Musquodoboit, Halifax County

Lower Prospect, Halifax County

Lower Stewiacke, Colchester County

Lunenburg Township, Lunenburg County

Mainadieu, Cape Breton County

Maitland Township, Richmond County

Manchester Township, Guysborough County

Margaree Township, Inverness County

Maxwelton Township, Pictou County

McNabs Island, Halifax County

Melford Township, Guysborough County

Middle District Cow Bay, Cape Breton County

Middle Musquodoboit, Halifax County

Middle River, Cape Breton County

Middle Shelburne Township, Shelburne County

Middle Stewiacke, Colchester County

Mill Brook, Cape Breton County

Mira Gut, Cape Breton County

Mire Bay, Cape Breton County

Moss Road Settlement, Annapolis County

New Albany Settlement, Annapolis County

New Annan, Colchester County

New Dublin, Lunenburg County

New Glasgow, Pictou County

Newdiquoddy, Halifax County

Newport Township, Hants County

Northern District, Queens County

Onslow Township, Colchester County

Parrsboro Township, Kings County

Pennant Bay, Halifax County

Perot Settlement, Annapolis County

Petite Riviere, Lunenburg County

Pictou Island, Pictou County

Pictou Township, Pictou County

Pleasant River, Lunenburg County

Port Hood Township, Inverness County

Port Medway, Lunenburg County

Port Mouton Township, Queens County

Port Piswick (Petpeswick), Halifax County

Porter's Lake, Halifax County

Portuguese Cove, Halifax County

Preston, Halifax County

Ramsay Road Settlement, Annapolis County

Rawdon Township, Hants County

Salmon River, Halifax County

Sambro, Halifax County

Sheet Harbour, Halifax County

Sherbrooke, Lunenburg County

Ship Harbour, Halifax County

Smelt Brook, Cape Breton County

Spryfield, Halifax County

St. Andrews Township, Sydney County

St. Anns Harbour, Cape Breton County

St. Margaret's Bay, Halifax County

St. Mary's Township, Guysborough County

Sutherland Island, Halifax County

Sydney, Cape Breton County

Tangiers, Halifax County

Tatamagouche, Colchester County

Three Fathom Harbour, Halifax County

Tracadie Township, Sydney County

Truro Township, Colchester County

Uniacke Township, Hants County

Upper Musquodoboit, Halifax County

Upper Narrows, Cape Breton County

Upper Prospect, Halifax County

Upper Stewiacke, Colchester County

West Chester, Lunenburg County

West Shelburne Township, Shelburne County

Western Shore, Lunenburg County

Wilmot, Annapolis County

Wilmot Township, Guysborough County

Windsor Township, Hants County

Yarmouth Township, Yarmouth County


Nova Scotia Archives —

Crown copyright © 2024, Province of Nova Scotia.